Public Officials

Since AAUW’s founding, our members and supporters have spoken out about policies important to women and girls. Without their voices, invaluable legislation would have never been passed. In recent years, such legislation included the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Matthew Shepard and James Byrd Jr. Hate Crimes Prevention Act, and the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act.

Contact information for NM public officials:

U.S Senators – New Mexico
Martin Heinrich (D), 505 S. Main St., Ste 148, LC 88001, 575-523-6561,
Tom Udall (D), 505 S. Main St., Ste 118, LC 88001, 575-526-5475,

U.S. Representative – Southern New Mexico
Xochitl Torres Small (D), 240 S. Water St., LC, NM 88001, (575) 323-6384,

Governor – New Mexico
Michelle Lujan Grisham (D), State Capital Bldg., Room 400, Santa Fe, NM 87501, (505) 476-2200,

NM House of Representatives for Las Cruces area

Cadena, Micaela Lara (D)

Ferrary, Joanne (D)

Gallegos, Doreen (D)

Madrid, Willie D. (D)

Martinez, Rudy (D)

Lara, Reymundo (D)

Rubio, Angelica (D)

Small, Nathan (D)

NM State Senators for Las Cruces area

Cervantes, Joseph, 2610 South Espina, Las Cruces, NM 88001,, D-Doña Ana-31, (575) 526-5600 (575) 522-3352

Papen, Mary Kay, 904 Conway Ave., Las Cruces, NM 88005,, D-Doña Ana-38, (575) 524-4462

Soules, William P., 5054 Silver King, Las Cruces, NM 88011,, D-Doña Ana-37, (575) 522-3521

Steinborn, Jeff, PO Box 562, Las Cruces, NM 88004,, D-Doña Ana-36, (575) 635-5615

Legislative website: